©Copyright 2007. Coconut Republic®. All rights reserved.



Luis R. VillafuerteLuis R. Villafuerte is the incumbent Congressman for District II of the Province of Camarines Sur, Philippines. He is a publisher of books on trade and industry . He is one of the principal authors of the BIOFUELS ACT, mandating the use of coco methylester known as coco biodiesel as a blend or substitute for crude oil based diesel fuel and the TRANS FAT LABELING ACT mandating the labeling requirement on the amount of trans fats on processed foods. 

A graduate of Associate in Arts and Bachelor of Laws from the University of the Philippines, he is a recipient of special academic conferments: Doctor of Humanities, Honoris Causa from the University of Mindanao and Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa , from the University of Northeastern Philippines. He took up extensive training in investment banking in New York and Washington, D.C. as well as in Hongkong and London, while practicing law.  Before entering government service he was one of the pioneers in the investment banking business in the Philippines and in Southeast Asia. He was a recipient of the Ten Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) of the Philippines Award for Investment Banking and International Finance.

He also served as Executive Committee Member of the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives (ICLEI). He established an Eco-Village in his province of Camarines Sur; pioneered in deer farming, and is active in
the development of floriculture, aviculture and aquaculture projects.

He was elected as an Assemblyman in the Batasang Pambansa (National Assembly) in 1978 and was re-elected in 1984. From 1979 to 1982 he served as Minister of Trade of the Philippines. In 1986, he was appointed as Chairman of the Presidential Commission on Government Reorganization by President Corazon C. Aquino. He was elected and served the longest as Governor of the Province of Camarines Sur, Philippines from 1986 to 1992 and from 1995 to 2004, or a total of fifteen years. He was the first President of the League of Provinces of the Philippines and National Chairman of the League for two successive terms, from 1998 to 2004.

He has been chosen Outstanding Governor of the Philippines and one of the most Outstanding Congressmen in the Philippines for three consecutive years.

Visit: http://www.luisrvillafuerte.com